Self Image

Growing up, I’ve struggled with self confidence. I looked in the mirror and saw someone I didn’t want to be. I knew who I wanted to be and what I wanted to look like, but it almost seemed impossible to accomplish it. I didn’t want to go through plastic surgery and be someone I wasn’t and I didn’t want to starve myself in order to look like the other girls at school. I was tempted, but I never wanted to go through something so negative just to look the same as other people. Even when my friends would ask me to go to the pool during the summer, I declined them half the time because then I was opened to the world. I didn’t want to see people look at me or make comments to me because I already knew what they were going to say.

Psalms 8:3-4 tells us that we shouldn’t doubt ourselves and our image. If we are God’s, then what else matters? Why look away for what he has for us and care about the things that don’t matter? If we know that there is someone who sees us as perfect and beautiful in every way, we shouldn’t care about what other people say and think.

To this day, I still struggle with how I see myself. The only difference from then and now is that I want to see how other people see me and appreciate that, rather than ignoring the people who compliment me and doubt their sight. I want to see how God sees me and embrace that. The thought of being looked at as ugly has left my head and my heart. Self image isn’t just a physical being, it’s also inner beauty. How you see yourself on the inside reflects on the outside and that’s one of the most important factors to confidence.

What people say and wear shouldn’t matter anymore. The reason why our society is so screwed onto needing the new trends is because we care about how other people see us. We compare ourselves to the “better looking” people around us and wish we didn’t look the way we did. When I was walking down the street with a friend of mine, she would be practically praised by her beauty but she wasn’t right in the heart. I was jealous of her because of how beautiful she is and once I had a change of heart, I saw her heart. I realized, it’s not what’s on the outside, it’s what’s on the inside. I know, “that was super cliche” well it is the first time I’ve ever truly believed it.

If God sees us as beautiful, then nothing else matters. You can be flawless on the outside, but ugly on the inside. Find out who you are and who God wants you to be, fulfill it, and you won’t ever need to think about how you look on the outside. Smile, walk with God, and you’ll be in complete bliss.

3 thoughts on “Self Image

  1. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too magnificent. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is actually a great web site.

    Like

  2. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or tips. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read even more things about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

