Identity

Who are you?

Who are you? What’s you’re name?

The first question can mean the same as the second, but once you see the difference, they can’t. “Who are you” is probably the hardest question to answer when you don’t know your identity. What qualifies as you? It could mean your religion, sex, culture, anything really, except there is a whole new meaning behind “identity.”

i·den·ti·ty
/ˌīˈden(t)ədē/
noun

the fact of being who or what a person or thing is.

That’s what it means in the dictionary, but what does it mean in you?

For me, I am Lauren Phillips. It means I’m a fighter, achiever, and a believer. I will hold myself accountable for my actions and for others, but I will always forgive. I won’t tear anyone down, and hope to bring them up. This could change some day. The list could be added on and altered. I might be beaten down, but I will not give up. My identity is my name, it’s how God made me, how my family shaped me, and how I hold myself. It’s also my morals, what I find good and bad. It’s who I choose to follow and how I choose to be a leader.

You can be lost, afraid, tempted to betray yourself, but don’t. Stay true to yourself and who you want to be in life. Your identity may shift back and forth on who you are, it just depends on what you do and how you let yourself change. Are you going to live your life as being afraid to know, or are you going to build yourself up and show everyone who you truly are? It all depends on you. God may tell you how he’s created you to be, but you have to be willing to follow him. It won’t happen over night, but you can’t give up on yourself and you can’t give up on God.

More importantly, who do you want to be? People change over time and there’s such a huge distinction from being in high school to graduating college in your identity. Do you want to be known as outgoing and loving, or adventurous and bold? You are able to change your life. You won’t be able to change your past, but there’s so much hope for your future and that’s what a lot of people don’t see. It’s so crucial that you, the one reading this, can see your future and know it all depends on your actions and who you want to become. It’s possible to start from rock bottom but work your way up to so much more than you ever thought possible. It all depends on you. Are you a victim, or are you a fighter? You might’ve been the victim at one point, but is that who you want to be for the rest of your life? Or, do you want to be someone who is known for their strength and determination. I don’t know about you, but strength and determination are so much more appealing than being a victim.

It’s your turn. Who do you choose to be? What do you want to be known as? And, are you willing to change for what you want?

Leave a Reply

