What’s New With You?

I wouldn’t call this a life update because nothing really big has happened. I am currently getting ready to graduate and start my life in a new city. I feel like I’ve lost a lot of people in my life, especially this year. I know it’s just God helping me get ready to transition into a new start at life which is nice but it’s weird to not be as close with the people I would’ve done anything for. I have been lonely and sad because my life is changing and I have to start doing everything on my own. I have to think about things that not even my siblings had to think about at my age. I have to think about an apartment, roommates, kitchen supplies, furniture, a new job, it’s overwhelming. I can’t just put it off like most people can do with other things. This is something that’s real and I have to get this organized before I jump into something that I’m not familiar with.

I have a severe case of senioritous and I am just waiting for school to end. It’s not just me graduating to go back to school, it’s me graduating to start a whole new life and to begin doing something I love. It’s my entire future. I’ve been waiting for this moment for four years now but I never thought this is where my life would take me. I didn’t even consider that moving to Denver to go to an art school was even an option for me. Now, it’s actually happening.

I have been lonely but I know that I’m not going to be for long and that college will bring so many friends into my life and hopefully ones that I can depend on for a very long time. I am just exhausted of the feeling that I am only there for people’s convenience. Senior year is stressful and there are a lot of ups and downs but looking to the future just makes every moment so much more worth it. I know that God has something amazing in store for me and it takes a little bit of a speed bump in order to straighten everything up and for me to slow down and appreciate every second of it.

I want people to tell me that it’ll be easy and I won’t have to worry about anything. I want people to say that I won’t have to worry about money and the “freshman 15” isn’t going to happen to me. I want all of those to be true but I know that it’s just life and I’m going to have to experience the bad in things in order to really get to know the good. I guess that’s my only advice. Take everything in. Enjoy every single moment of life because you get one shot to do this. This is your one, single chance to prove to people who you are and how you want your life. Don’t do something because your parents want you to do it or because it’s “cool”, do it because you want to do it and because you know you will be able to live your life exactly how you want it by doing this. This is your chance to live. Don’t blow it.

Leave a Reply

