What Everyone Entering High School Should Know

High school is like a jungle of hormonal teenagers and cranky teachers who need more coffee and a bottle of anti-depressants.

Honestly speaking, high school isn’t bad.

Freshman, you’re allowed to make mistakes. Don’t be stupid though, it will follow you if you do something unreasonably stupid. Life goes on, remember this, it is very crucial. Freshman year can be depressing almost. Your friend groups change during the summer and people will treat you differently because you are no longer “upper class-men.” You are the babies of high school and people will treat you as you are. I know it sucks but it happens to everyone. Don’t get into relationships because you can’t drive so it’s not actually dating; y’all are just holding hands in the hall (just like middle school). It doesn’t count until someone can drive and both of y’all know who you truly are as people. Friends will change and you will change yourself. This is the time to grow your own personal style. Experiment with things. It took me 3 years (I am about to graduate high school) to find my style. Also, join clubs and sports! You don’t need a lot of friends but it definitely helps find you a group of people you can relate to and have fun with. You don’t have to do the same thing all 4 years of high school, you can change it up. For instance, I did Winter Guard my freshman year which I highly recommend! The group of people are amazing and the coaches are so talented! It just wasn’t the right path for me. Sophomore year I joined the school’s cheer team and I am still currently in it because of how passionate I am for the sport. The coach is AMAZING!!! I love her to death and she’s like my sister! I tell her everything and there really isn’t anything she doesn’t know about me. My team members are my family. We all get annoyed with each other but at the end of the day we will do anything for the team and try our best to support everyone. Just have fun, it might seem as if freshman year will never end but I promise, those 4 years go by incredibly fast and it’ll be over before you know it. Enjoy life, have fun, and be the person you always wanted to be. Don’t give yourself limits. Nothing is impossible. Also, you will never know what’s at the end of the tunnel until you enter. It will change your life when you give things a chance. Who knows, maybe you will gain your lifelong best friend out of it or find your dream job. Good luck, have fun, and don’t do anything incredibly stupid.

Leave a Reply

