Instagram Goals?

(Scroll down for tips and tricks for your winter wardrobe)

Do you ever see those absolutely stunning girls wearing the cutest outfits in the entire world and just wish you could some day dress like that? I do everyday.

Being in high school doesn’t always open opportunities to try the new style you were debating about or the makeup look with the dark red lipstick. People judge each other and its intimidating when you don’t know what you’re doing exactly. I totally get it. I have a shoe collection meant for a runway model but in an 18 year old’s closet who only wears flats because she’s too scared to wear her chunky heals in public. Also, my collection of lipstick that I don’t ever wear besides the nude shades because anything but nude-pink scares me.

The thing is, we are always scared to try new things because we don’t want people to judge us. If you want to cut your hair, do it. If you hate it, let it grow out, unless you’re impatient like me and would spend $100 on extensions because short hair is intimidating. I haven’t done that, don’t worry, but I have definitely debated on it. Wear those cute boots you got for a special occasion to the mall or to school because who cares what you look like? Strut the halls like it’s your job because let me tell you this, you will look absolutely stunning if you just gave it enough confidence.

Now, for actual advice on dressing yourself. If you do any of these and you love how you look and feel, then continue doing it! All that matters is that you feel amazing, this is just my opinion.

-Dark shirts with light jeans: I get that sometimes it looks amazing to do this, don’t get me wrong, but the light wash boyfriend jeans look best with a casual shirt and almost a neutral color top. The boyfriend jeans give it a relaxed feel and the top should flow with it. I wouldn’t pair a black T-shirt with light wash jeans, personally. I would try dark jeans and a light shirt but that’t because the light on top and dark on bottom draws people’s attention to your face and gives you a nice contrast. having something bright on the bottom can drag their attention to your legs and feet and if that’s your goal, then go for it.

-Sweats: I have the days when I only wear sweatpants and I don’t even want to attempt anything else, but dress to impress and it is possible with sweats. I would go for a black, tight or loose, just do black if you’re going out. Pair it with a basic top that is easy to layer, I will talk about this more in another section, maybe add a pair of boots and go for the “trying to stay warm” rather than “I just had 3 chocolate bars” kinda look. It is easy for someone to approach you if you don’t look like you hate the world, and yes it’s possible to look like that.

-Layers: I LOVE layering my clothes. 1. I’m always cold so it helps and 2. It looks so good! Let’s say I want to just wear a pair of leggings and a black T-shirt. I look honestly disgusting. Unless, you add a neutral colored coat, a scarf, leg warmers, and a cute pair of boots. I look so much more put together but still feel as if I could jump into my bed and sleep for days without being uncomfortable. It does so much for an outfit! Just try to stay away from looking as if you’re going for the 100 layers of shirts challenge, you don’t want to look like a marshmallow.

– Scarves: If you have even seen me once, I was probably wearing a scarf. I can’t live without them! Didn’t wash your hair and you want to go for a messy bun because you slept in too late? Throw that bun up and put on a scarf and you still look put together. I use this trick all the time. I hate having my hair up without a scarf, honestly. I didn’t wash my hair and it was obvious that I had to put it up because I didn’t have enough time for a shower. My super hero that morning was my scarf. I like to dress cute and like I tried and honestly if I don’t want to even give two thoughts about my outfit for that day, I put my hair in a ponytail, threw on a sweater, leggings, a scarf, and a pair of boots and I was done! Took me not even 10 minutes. I looked cute without taking a million years to get ready.

Let me know if there are any other tips or tricks you’d like me to share and I will be more than happy to help you out!

Leave a Reply

