“Don’t make friends in high school”

Someone told me it was a bad idea to make friends in high school because it doesn’t even matter. Yes, there are factors to where I agree with that, but at the same time, I hate not having my best friend and she definitely makes things a heck of a lot easier to face than being alone.

Being in high school is a learning process and a very awkward stage. You have to know what you’re doing with your life before anyone else does so you seem like the more “put together” person, even if you aren’t so collected with your thoughts yet. You make friends and you lose some, but funny part is, they aren’t going to be there forever. I used to hate it when people told me that because why not make the most out of it and enjoy it while it lasts?  You don’t have to listen to anyone when they say that because it’s your life. I had this so called “friend” who ended up being one of the worst human beings in the world. We were really close but then they started saying how they have everything figured out and they don’t need anyone, including me, their best friend. They started using me for what they wanted and treating me like crap and pointing out all my insecurities. They were always the one to say “high school friends don’t matter because we are leaving in a year” when it does matter because I don’t know about y’all, but I could never live without my best friend.

Point is, don’t listen to the people who bring you down but to listen to the ones who encourage you. Also, you don’t have to do anything by yourself, it’s your choice if you want to or not. You’re allowed to have friends in high school to boost you up and just live life with. Enjoy the four years because in a blink of an eye, it’ll be graduation day, then move in day for college.

 

Leave a Reply

